Villa Saroli, Viale Stefano Franscini, 9
PO BOX 5269 - CH-6901 Lugano, Switzerland
T +41 (0)91 921 11 54
Associated to logo USI

Organisation chart

ESASO Foundation Board

The ESASO Foundation Board is ESASO’s ultimate governing body. Members are leading ophthalmologists from various countries and have strong learning partnerships with our school: they ensure ESASO is aligned to the evolving needs of the global ophthalmic community.

Members dedicated to ensuring ESASO’s relevance
In meetings, ESASO Foundation Board members discuss key items that impact the overall strategic direction of the School, review the financial results, and determine leadership activities for the future leaders.


Borja Corcóstegui

Director Instituto Microcirurgia Ocular (IMO) inBarcelona, Spain


Fabio Nicoli

Lawyer and Public Notary, Law Firm Barchi Nicoli
Trisconi Gianini SA in Lugano, Switzerland

General Secretary

Ottavio Bernasconi

Head of Ophthalmology Unit, Ospedale Regionale Bellinzona e Valli in Bellinzona, Switzerland


Francesco Bandello

Chairman Department of Ophthalmology, University Vita-Salute Scientific Inst. San Raffaele in Milan, Italy

Marco Borradori

Mayor of the City of Lugano, Switzerland

Bruno Falcomatà

Head of U.S. di Patologia Retinica, Ospedale B.M.M. in
Reggio Calabria, Italy

Gilda Gastaldi

President of Group San Donato Foundation and member of the Board of Scientific committee

Giorgio Giudici

Former Mayor of the City of Lugano, Switzerland

Boas Erez

Dean Università della Svizzera italiana in Lugano, Switzerland

Sandro Rusconi

Former Director Divisione della Cultura e degli Studi Universitari in Bellinzona, DECS, Switzerland

ESASO Head Office

ESASO Head Office is based in Lugano, Switzerland, located in the beautiful Villa Saroli. The Head Office is the communication hub of ESASO and serves as service pool ensuring the smooth flow of information between the students, the faculty, the societies, the institutions, and the partners.

Global Executive Director

Giuseppe Guarnaccia, MD

Head Office Manager

Simona Fertilio

Project Coordinator Events

Germaine Sciriha

Modules Coordinator

Fabiana Zanotta

Executive assistant

Sara Corbino

Contact Us


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Info

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.