Villa Saroli, Viale Stefano Franscini, 9
PO BOX 5269 - CH-6901 Lugano, Switzerland
T +41 (0)91 921 11 54 | E
Associated to logo USI

Minutes selection 2014

Lugano, 27 June 2014

Fellowship Selection Committee

The ESASO Fellowship Board met in Lugano on 27 June 2014 to select the new Fellows 2014-2015.

The ESASO Fellowship Board included Borja Corcóstegui, Leonidas Zografos, Christoph Scholda, Rafael Navarro, Giuseppe Guarnaccia, and Maurizio Battaglia Parodi.

Stanley Chang and Rupert Bourne were Skype-connected to interview the candidates.
Maurizio Battaglia Parodi informed the Board that seven candidates have applied to the ESASO Fellowship Programme.

The 2014 ESASO Fellowship Programme included the following positions:
• Instituto de Microcirugia Ocular, Barcelona, Spain
• Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona, Barcelona, Spain
• Department of Ophthalmology, Columbia University Medical Center, New York, USA
• Università Vita-Salute, San Raffaele Scientific Institute, Milan, Italy
• Allgemeines Krankenhaus Universitätskliniken, Vienna, Austria
• Department of Ophthalmology, Tel Aviv Medical Center & Sackler Faculty of Medicine, Tel Aviv University, Israel
• Institute of Ophthalmology & Visual Science, UMDNJ-New Jersey, USA
• Ludwig-Maximilans Universität Munich, Germany
• Department of Ophthalmology, Academic Medical Center, University of Amsterdam, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
• Moorfields Eye Hospital, London, UK
• Anglia Ruskin University, Cambridge, UK

After a thorough discussion the ESASO Fellowship Board decided to assign two Fellowships:
• Surgical Retina Fellowship at Department of Ophthalmology at the Ludwig-Maximilians Universität in Munich to Giancarlo Sborgia, Italy
• Surgical Retina Fellowship at Department of Ophthalmology at University of Amsterdam to Alessandro Papayannis, Italy

Moreover, the ESASO Board approved the candidature of M Zubair Y Arain for the Leadership Training Programme for Clinical Product Development Fellowship.

The President of the Committee, Borja Corcóstegui, adjourned the meeting at 04:30 pm.

Stanley Chang, USA

President of the Committee
Borja Corcóstegui, Spain

Committee members
Rafeal Navarro, Spain
Giuseppe Guarnaccia, Italy
Christoph Scholda, Austria
Leonidas Zografos, Switzerland
Secretary Maurizio Battaglia Parodi, Italy

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Info

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.